Can I Get A Witness?

The subject of sharing your testimony has been on my mind a lot lately. It’s easy to give someone an encouraging word and tell them that everything will be okay or that everything will work out according to God’s purpose (and these things are true). What isn’t always easy is sharing a time when you felt hopeless and God came through in amazing ways, even if it was contrary to what you had originally hoped he would do. I don’t know about you but when I am in need of an encouraging word, I find that someone else’s life experience can be a beacon of hope whereas a simple “It’ll be okay” doesn’t always make me feel better. I often just nod my head and say “I know” thinking, “How many times have I heard that before?” Don’t get me wrong, there have been times when that simple little encouragement has helped me realign my perspective to a more positive outlook. However, more often than not I need someone to say, “I’ve been there too and I guarantee you it will be okay. This is why…”

People often say, especially in the bible belt, that God is good and has done so many good things but won’t say why that’s true for them. Well, I know that God is good but what I want to know is why you feel that way. This most likely has something to do with the fact that I’m nosy, exponentially so. But I also think that it is important as believers to share our God stories so that we can encourage other believers and be a light in the world of the lost. I’ve always been the type of person that asks “Why?” about everything (I’m sure my family members can testify to that statement). Generally speaking, I realize there isn’t always a good answer to that question. There is, however, always a good answer to the question “Why is God good?” Let’s see what the scriptures have to say about this:

“Oh give thanks to the LORD, call upon His name; Make known His deeds among the peoples.”  – Psalm 105:1

The psalmist urges us to not only give thanks to our God but to also let the world know His deeds.Why? Because we live in a ‘why’ culture. Tell me, who would want to believe and worship a god without knowing why they were doing it. Anyone who doesn’t need a reason to believe in and worship God is looking for an idol, not God. Truthfully, you can’t really believe in and worship our God without knowing why. Before someone can experience for themselves how good and holy and just God is, they need to know that it is possible for it to be experienced.Who else can tell them except those who have experienced God first-hand?

 ” “Return to your house and describe what great things God has done for you.” So he went away, proclaiming throughout the whole city what great things Jesus had done for him.” -Luke 8:39 

Jesus has just healed a man possessed by many demons. First of all, let me say that being possessed by one demon is way scary but being possessed by a legion of demons? My stomach just turned over ten times. And Jesus cast out every single one of those jokers and freed that man from a literal hell on earth. This man was so eternally grateful that he didn’t want to separate himself from the One who saved him but Jesus told him that he needed to go home and tell his family, tell everyone what God had done. Why? Because people needed to know how powerful the God of Abraham and Isaac and you and I really is. We can’t just hole ourselves up in our churches telling everyone who already believes in God what he’s done over and over again. We need to tell everyone, in the church and more importantly outside the church so that everyone has an opportunity to know our God.Please don’t mistake what I’m saying, I do believe it is important to share God’s good work in our life with our fellow believers so that we can celebrate Him corporately and encourage one another. We just can’t limit ourselves to sharing our testimonies in the church alone.

We all have a story to tell and I will be the first to admit that my story isn’t a pretty one. In fact, the only pretty part about it is that God saved me from a life of never-ending sorrow and shame. I would wager that most people don’t want to share their testimony because they don’t want to revisit that time in their life. They don’t want to have to think about the shame, pain, mistakes or failures that brought them to their knees in front of a holy and merciful God. Or they don’t think their story is important enough to share. Or they’re afraid of judgment from their peers. To that last statement let me say, 

 Dear Christians,

Let shame be poured all over us if we ever keep a brother or sister in Christ from sharing their testimony because we present a holier than thou attitude. Shame on us if we allow our flesh to deny others the joy of knowing Christ by judging someone that can help them see the light of God.

When you are confident of God’s view of you and confident of His redemptive purposes then you can confidently share your story without fear of retribution or judgment from people who are just as much a sinner as you.

“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” -Romans 3:23

The hurting and lost need you to be completely honest about when you were hurting and lost. They need to know that there is hope. You have the amazing opportunity to show that you are a product of God’s grace and redemption. Don’t give that opportunity away.

The best advice I can give you about this and just about anything else is to pray and trust in God. Pray for the right words to express perfectly what God has done for you. Pray for the right opportunity so that you can share your story with people who will be impacted most by it. Pray for strength and peace. Most importantly, pray that God will give you a humble heart so that you don’t make testifying about you but you allow all glory and honor to go to God.

**If you feel as though you haven’t truly experienced the goodness of God, let me know so that I can pray for you. Send me and email, leave a comment, whatever works for you. It is imperative in your walk with Christ that you experience him in a real, tangible way. 

 

**Originally posted to Blogger on 4-30-12

