Rainy Days and Dry Seasons

image

As I sit here writing to you, I’m listening to the rain fall where it pleases. We’ve had several rainy days in a row and I’ve loved every single one of them. Sounds kind of strange, doesn’t it? There’s something refreshing, cleansing even, in a good rain fall. I think the grass always looks the greenest when paired with a gray sky. And the music of the birds chirping away while the rain dances down the house is so beautiful. On days like today, I often wish I had my own little cabin in the woods with a screened in back porch. And on that porch, I would have a huge, cozy chair that’s perfect for snuggling in while you nap or write or pray.
This is not why I’m writing to you today though. I want to talk about seasons of waiting. Yes, that dreaded yet beautiful life season. Let me just put this out there… I’m not good at waiting. In fact, I can become really irritated if I have to experience any period of waiting. Patience was not a gift bestowed on me at birth. Scandalous, I know. Any ounce of it that I have acquired has come from many character shaping seasons in the spiritual desert (Hosea 2:14).
With my natural inability to endure and the instant gratification age we’re living in now coupled together, I’m in bad shape when it comes to waiting. Even now as I’m waiting to let the words form in just the right way, I’m trying to occupy those few free seconds I have with mindless activities.
— I need help —
So lets talk about it. Or allow me to talk to you, rather.What does the word ‘wait’ mean? One definition says it is to remain inactive until something happens. I’m going to have to stop right here and call that a bunch of hullabaloo. You see, remaining inactive is another one of those things I’m not good at. I like to always be doing some sort of activity. In fact, I’m so bad at being inactive that sleep is more of an event than it is rest. My brain goes so berserk during dream time that M. Night Shyamalan could get movie ideas from them.

There is another definition more commonly associated with things but I like it better so I’m going to apply it here. This second definition says to wait is to be available or in a state of readiness. Much better. It turns the word ‘wait’ into a super action verb instead of a dopey non-action verb. (I tried to get creative there and it didn’t work.) I digress.
I don’t want to be a miserable, dopey inactive woman while I’m waiting for God’s answers to my prayers. Basically, I don’t want to be this girl:
 image
Don’t get me wrong– I have my moments. And while cream cheese brownies do make me feel better, they don’t cure all of my ills.
  I am well-acquainted with doubt and fear. I can be consumed by the how, when and what if’s of waiting for the fruition of your dreams. This often makes waiting difficult and long but it reminds me of my desperate dependence on God. I believe that for those of us who are Christians, waiting tends to be more of a spiritual battle than anything else. When fear of the unknown threatens to overtake me, I battle with the Word of God as my weapon.
“I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord In the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; Be strong and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for the Lord.”(Psalms 27:13, 14 NASB)
This is one of my favorite encouraging truths from the bible. These verses along with another favorite passage from the Psalms was written by David when he was in hiding from his son Absalom who was trying to overtake his throne. Absalom successfully revolted against his father, ran him out of Jerusalem and then waged war on him. David never forgot that our God is mighty to save and that we should be courageous in heart as we wait upon Him to act. The Lord was with David and he won the battle against his son. David had a fearless trust in God whose mercies are new every morning. He believed in the goodness of God so he never lost heart. So it should be for us in our waiting.
I am also well acquainted with comparison. Teddy Roosevelt once said, “Comparison is the thief of joy.” And I believe it to be true. I constantly look towards the future and wonder how long it will take for my hearts desires to be realized. It’s not a bad thing to wonder but it is unhealthy to worry. Which, by the way, I have a Ph.D. in worrying. It’s one of those things I’m good at, sad to say. I have to stop comparing the reality of today with what I wish I was doing or experiencing instead. If I consistently allow myself to be dissatisfied with the blessing of today then how will I recognize or be able to receive the gift of the future? I have to trust that Ecclesiastes 3:11 is as true as its ever been. God has made everything beautiful in its time. And I don’t want to rush those things I wish for most. I want them to happen at God’s appointed time.
And since Psalm 37:4 is true as well, I don’t want to be bogged down by doubt or fear. I don’t want to be sad beach girl. I want to be vibrantly ready, delighting myself in the Lord.
I have a pulse so that means I have a purpose. The same is true for you. I refuse to believe that we best glorify God in our waiting by being dull or inactive. There is not one person or event that will kick start our lives. It’s already begun! The moment you and I took our first breaths was like a gunshot sounding to begin a race. I want to live this life and love God with reckless abandon, as my dear friend Jami says. With nothing holding me back, I want to fulfill my purpose here whether I’m walking in my calling or waiting for that door to open.  By the way, learning to trust in God makes this season beautiful and makes us more like Christ.
Be brave. Be fearless. Love like you have nothing to lose. Trust in The Lord!
“Delight yourself in the Lord; And He will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4
“Yet those who wait for The Lord will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles; They will run and not grow tired, they will walk and not become weary.” Isaiah 40:31
