A Song In My Heart

Have you ever woken up with a song in your head? That happened to me Monday morning. I was a bit perplexed because my first thought in the mornings tends to be one of desperation. (i.e “Must destroy the beeping thing!” “Dude, it’s really bright in here.” “I. NEED. COFFEE.”) Not on Monday though. I woke up singing “Nothing is impossible for You. Nothing is impossible. Nothing is impossible for You.”

Not only could I not stop singing that song, I kept seeing and hearing that statement from other sources. For instance, I think someone tweeted the verse in the bible where that line comes from. Then, I was listening to a radio interview and this lady said, “I know nothing is impossible with God.” So, I’m thinking God really wants me to catch onto something here.

There are several exciting, somewhat daunting, events coming up for me that will require me to truly believe that nothing is impossible with God. To be completely honest, I’ve found myself being weighed down by the reality of each situation instead of uplifted by the endless might of God. Can you say the same?

“For nothing will be impossible with God.” Luke 1:37

What do you think would happen if we actually took God at His Word? What would happen if we actually believed that God could turn the impossible into possible. What would happen if we actually believed that God is trustworthy? Let’s face it.

You and I don’t always believe that:

  • Our loved one will accept Christ’s salvation
  • We’ll get that job we desperately want or need
  • We’ll be able to make ends meet
  • We’ll be able to buy that house
  • A relational issue can ever be resolved
  • We’ll ever find a soulmate
  • Our marriages will be reconciled and amazing
  • We’ll ever be blessed with children
  • Or that we’ll be able to care for the kids we have

We don’t always believe that God is good and has our best interests at heart. 

Struggling to trust God with anything and everything in your life? It’s okay. I would say most believers do. Abraham’s wife, Sarah, struggled with trusting God too. She was barren and old in age, far past the normal child-bearing years. Yet, God promised that Abraham’s son would come from her womb. She thought it was so impossible that it leaned towards absurdity in her mind. She even laughed in her heart when she overheard that promise from the Lord. The Lord heard that laugh though. The one that was mingled with disappointment so deep in her heart that only Sarah was supposed to know it had even happened.

“Is anything too difficult for the Lord? At the appointed time I will return to you, at this time next year, and Sarah will have a son.” Genesis 18:14

Did you see that? “At the appointed time…” There is so much richness in those four words. God always has an appointed time for everything and it will most likely not be on our time schedule.  I’ve found that this is always done  to strengthen our faith in Him.

What would happen if we actually believed the impossible was possible with God? We would be unstoppable.

I have this little journal full of quotes that I made in high school. One of my favorites in there is from Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland.

article-picture39

“There is no use trying,” said Alice; “one can’t believe impossible things.” “I dare say you haven’t had much practice,” said the Queen. “When I was your age, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”

 Go dream up something impossible today.

“Ah Lord God! Behold, You have made the heavens and the earth by Your great power and by Your outstretched arm! Nothing is too difficult for You” Jeremiah 32:17

P.S. That song I was singing is the bridge from “Healer” by Hillsong

