New Beginnings

296165_4854330925123_1386160916_n

 

Lately, it seems as though a lot of people are experiencing a new beginning of some sort in their lives. I can’t say that the summer heat has brought all this change on because we haven’t had very many hot days yet, praise the Lord. Whether it’s a new job, a new town, a new ministry opportunity, or something different altogether…

There’s a lot of new going around.

Even though I think change is exciting and necessary, I often feel hesitation when it comes around. And I think most of you could say the same. Unless of course you are a free spirit. You know the type. People who can ride with the windows down without worrying about tangles in their hair. I’m too much of a control freak about my hair (and several other things) to be a true free spirit. Let’s just say that “windblown” is not a good look for me.

If you are a creature of habit, like myself, I’m talking to you right now. Being a planner is a great skill to have and having a routine can be a good thing. I would never get anything done without a routine. Just don’t get so caught up in your plans and routines that you miss the opportunity to embark on a wonderful adventure. Priceless moments and unforgettable experiences never wait to be penciled into your schedule.

When the extraordinary comes knocking on your door, answer the call. Even if it doesn’t look like what you thought it would. Even if it plays out a little bit differently than you dreamed. Take the risk. I’m a perpetual believer in “It’ll all be okay.” Even if it’s not you’ll find a way to make it work and learn some valuable lessons along the way.

Now I’m not telling you to follow your heart. Your heart is dumb and blind. Don’t listen to it.

Weigh the pros and cons. Make a list. (We’re great at that aren’t we?) Talk to God about it. Talk to people you trust and love about it. Then make your decision. I’m also a “Go for it” type person so 8 times out of 10 my answer will be yes… you know, in case you were wondering.

If you are a free spirit, wind in your hair, type person, like my weekend self, I’m talking to you now. Way to be awesome! Just don’t forget the great advice in the previous paragraph. Also, “The Man” is not winning and will not suck out your soul just because you have a day planner and like to stick to a schedule. Trust me on that one.

Life is an adventure. Don’t be afraid to live it boldly.

