The Very Best Thing

Today, I am overwhelmed by the grace of God. In fact, I’ve been absolutely slack-jawed for several days because of His goodness.

I want to do an update on the 30 day prayer challenge that we did here at Fearless Grace.

I have not ever been one to rise early in the morning to pray or even find some time in my day to save for prayer. This summer, I decided to change that. Gone were the days of a quick drop-in to say hello and beg for whatever it was that I thought I needed at the time. It was past time to get serious about my prayer life and many of you echoed the same desire.

So I prayed. And I circled each request as I prayed. And I didn’t stop. Even on the days that I was exhausted or didn’t feel the faith that I thought I should have when entering the throne room. By George, it worked and it’s still working. I shouldn’t be surprised. In fact, I’m slightly ashamed that I’m surprised.

However, pleasantly surprised is what I am. No, that’s not the right word. Astounded. That’s it. I’m completely astonished.

My soul is lying prostrate in praise.

Here are a few things that I’ve prayed for that I’ve seen happen in the past two months of this incredible prayer life.

After 2 1/2 years of searching, I got a new job.

After getting that new job, I’m able to have a place of my own now.

I’ve been praying for a revival in the hearts of the people I love most and I’m seeing it happen.

This only encourages me to pray harder for the things that I haven’t seen yet because I know that God is always doing the very best thing, even when I cannot see it or touch it.

Pray without ceasing dear ones. God hears you. He is listening intently to each request that you speak and each request that you barely utter from your heart.

“He is always doing something — the very best thing, the thing we ourselves would certainly choose if we knew the end from the beginning.He is at work to bring us to our full glory.” -Elizabeth Elliot

“Rejoice always; pray without ceasing; in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

