All the Honesty

I’m sitting here staring at a blank page that’s waiting to be filled with all the right words. The trouble is, I don’t know what those words are. I’m not even sure I could string them all together and make them sound somewhat encouraging

I work for an accountant and we’re in the home stretch of tax extension deadlines. We’ve been going non-stop. In addition to that, I moved. You don’t have to say it. I know that my planning skills are impeccable. If running yourself into the ground was an Olympic sport I’d be bringing home the gold, baby.

In the midst of all that I’ve really been struggling with what to say to you beautiful people. I think I get too caught up in what I want you to get out of this blog that I forget to write to you just for the heck of it. Just because writing is fun and even cathartic for me. I would title this one “For the Heck of It” but then I’d get some phone calls from some well-meaning church ladies thinking that I’d back-slidden since I moved to the city.

I compare myself to other writers more than I should. Really I compare any of my God-given gifts to others WAY more than I should. For the record, we should never compare what God gives us to what God gives others. Don’t you think it’s such a tragedy to spend our time worried about what God has delegated to someone else rather than thanking Him for choosing us in the first place to do His work? I do, yet I still get wrapped up in the “Why them and not me?” poisonous cycle. In the midst of the busyness of my life, I’ve been bemoaning the fact that I can’t write like certain people instead of thanking God that those people are writing in the first place. I’m trying to rid myself of that thought process but it’s going to take a while.

All that being said, we’re going to have some fun today and celebrate all the good versus all the bad. Here’s some fun things that have been happening in my world the past few weeks:

-In spite of all the exhaustion and busyness, I’m really enjoying my new job.

I mentioned above that I moved to the city. That’s been super fun! I now live 5 minutes from work which is amazing since I’ve commuted for the past 8 years.

The first part of my place to reach completion status:

1375683_10200620510504186_979026802_n

-My nephew will be ONE on Tuesday! I can’t believe we’ve been able to love that little guy for an entire year now. Also, he loves to swing.

625548_10201652734472270_1250768458_n

-I hosted my first dinner party at my new place.

1383580_10200620509104151_1597780477_n

-I have several friends coming into town over the next few weekends and I’m so very excited about that! Pictures to come, I promise.

Your challenge for today: Pick out a one or two things that you’ve really enjoyed the past few weeks even if you’ve been buried in work or family stuff.

Your challenge for this week: Highlight two areas in your life that receive the most comparison. Every time you start to compare, stop and thank God for that person you’re comparing yourself too. And say a little prayer for them while you’re at it. They’re probably struggling in the comparison cycle too.

