Lessons From Home Part III

Every time I travel back home to the Delta, I am flooded with memories and lessons I learned from them. Today we will continue a series of some my favorite memories and life lessons and I would love to have you as a travel companion.

_________________________________________________________________________

1473035_10200894418991727_1788359703_n

Today I want to tell you about how I came to love meetings drowning in grace, love, and humor over a hot cup of tea.

My paternal grandmother, Mozelle, had a knack for just about everything that made you feel like you were home and safe from the world and its dangers.

On one of my visits to Moc’s (pronounced Moch like mocha sans the ‘a’), she introduced me to tea time. Our ritual always involved a pinch of sugar, a good dollop of whipped cream (Cool whip, the good stuff) and piping hot green tea. We’re southern so there was no way that we were going to drink our tea unsweet. We could sit and talk for hours about what was going on in my adolescent world or the events in hers.

In those sweet moments, she took interest in me and taught me how to take interest in others. She taught me how to listen and how to answer with grace-infused honesty. She taught me that some of the most sacred moments happen when you sit a table and share the unimportant mingled with the most important.

I wish I could sit at her table again and hear her laugh, ask her advice, and simply listen to all the wisdom that her years gifted her. However, I do have the honor of carrying on our sacred tradition.

Never underestimate the power in taking time to listen to words said and unsaid. A great gift to receive is the knowledge that you have been heard. The knowledge that you were important enough to one person, that they chose to hear your heart flow from your being in jumbled up words. That is love and grace poured out.

My challenge for you today is to listen, really listen. Too often, we respond before we even know what we should say. Take interest in those in your surroundings. You never know what that will mean to them.

“The greatest disease in the West today is not TB or leprosy; it is being unwanted, unloved, and uncared for. We can cure physical diseases with medicine, but the only cure for loneliness, despair, and hopelessness is love. There are many in the world who are dying for a piece of bread but there are many more dying for a little love. The poverty in the West is a different kind of poverty — it is not only a poverty of loneliness but also of spirituality. There’s a hunger for love, as there is a hunger for God.”
― Mother TeresaA Simple Path: Mother Teresa

_________________________________________________________________________

Lessons From Home Part I

Lessons From Home Part II

